English

Call for Papers: Intersectional Queer Sexualities

Call for Papers: Intersectional Queer Sexualities 1303 933 ÉRÉQQ Admin

Intersectional Queer Sexualities: Analysis of the Cultural Configurations of Queer Sexuality in Quebec and Canada

International Colloquium

Université de Montréal, Canada

June 16, 17, and 18, 2022

Starting from the premise that human sexual diversity exists, it goes without saying that such diversity is also intersectional. This observation is of crucial importance in order to understand queer sexualities, which are themselves plural, heterogenous, and multidimensional, when it comes to race, gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, age, and physical ability, among other factors. Queer sexualities should therefore avoid homonormativity – to quote Jasbir Puar in Terrorist Assemblages: Homonationalism in Queer times (2007). Homonormativity presupposes that sexual diversity is fundamentally conceived as being white, bourgeois, and ableist. This colloquium invites university researchers to move past a homonormative lens to apprehend the complexity of queer sexualities through an intersectional analysis.

In her article “Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex : A Black Feminist Critique of Antidiscrimination Doctrine, Feminist Theory and Antiracist Politics” published in 1989, Kimberle Crenshaw develops the concept of intersectionality in order to show the different ways in which gender and race interact and influence the multi-dimensionality of the experiences of black women on the job market (p. 139). Crenshaw defends the thesis that in order to understand discrimination against black women, we should not consider motives based on gender and race as independent axes, but that the reality of being both a woman and a person of colour creates a unique and particular life experience that cannot be understood by examining the two dimensions separately. However, the intersection of gender and race in the case of Black women creates a singular experience of discrimination, that we could call systemic, because this discrimination exists within a system in which the institutional structures legitimate and justify differentiated treatments based on the intersectional social position of an individual. Take, for example, the fact that trans women of colour are victims of the highest rate of aggression and homicides in Canada (Conseil québécois LGBT, 2017; McInnes, 2017).  

Therefore, intersectionality can be considered as a key concept in order to understand the multiple ways in which the intersection of gender, race, age, corporal capacity, socioeconomic status, etc. produces various configurations of discrimination and oppression, which has a direct impact on the construction of queer sexualities. For instance, an Arab-Muslim queer woman from an underprivileged background, will constantly face systemic barriers interweaving race, religion, sexuality, and social class. Queer sexualities are therefore dependent on the entanglement of racism, ageism, ableism, classism, etc.

This colloquium will focus on queer sexualities from an intersectional perspective.  We will look at the way in which queer sexualities are socially constructed, configured, performed, discriminated, devalued, marginalized, stigmatized, and excluded. As we deal with queer sexualities from an intersectional perspective, we will also aim to analyze the ways in which the human subject builds its subjectivity, its agency, its performativity, perhaps even its identity, in literary, artistic, cinematographic, theatrical, and cultural media productions. Therefore, we welcome proposals pertaining to the intersectionality of queer sexualities based on certain axes of reflection:

  • Queer sexualities and oppression (racism, ableism, ageism, classism, sexism, fatphobia, transphobia, homophobia, biphobia, lesbophobia, etc.)
  • Queer sexualities and privilege (male, white, ableist, etc.)
  • LGBTQ2+ racialized, “cripped” and/or socio-economically disadvantaged identities
  • Construction and performance of intersectional queer sexualities in literature, cinema, visual arts, the documentary, and social media (Tinder, YouTube, blogs, Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Grindr, etc.)
  • Queer sexualities and critical pedagogies (approaches, strategies, theories)

For this colloquium, we accept proposals for papers, roundtable sessions, and workshops in French or English. 250-word proposals must indicate the name of the researcher, institutional affiliation, and email address. The proposals must be sent by December 1, 2021 to the members of the organizing committee:

Domenico Beneventi < domenico.beneventi@usherbrooke.ca >

Jorge Calderón < calderon@sfu.ca >

Hasheem Hakeem < hasheem.hakeem@ucalgary.ca >

This colloquium is organized as part of the research activity of the “Corporality and Queer Sexualities in Canada and Quebec” group, which is financed by the FRQSC. The group consists of professors from l’Université de Sherbrooke, l’Université de Montréal, the University of Ottawa, the University of Victoria, and Simon Fraser University.

Works Cited

Conseil québécois LGBT. (2017). Rapport sur le racisme systémique vécu par la communauté LGBTQ+ montréalaise. Accessible en ligne :http://www.midi.gouv.qc.ca/publications/fr/dossiers/valoriser-diversite/rapports/RAP_Conseil_Quebecois_LGBT.pdf

Crenshaw, K. (1989). Demarginalizing the intersection of race and sex: A black feminist critique of antidiscrimination doctrine, feminist theory and antiracist politics. University of Chicago Legal Forum, 1989(1), 139-167.

McInnes, S. (2017). Violence against trans people in Canada: A primer. Accessible en ligne :

Puar, J.K. (2007). Terrorist assemblages: Homonationalism in queer times. Durham: Duke University Press.  

Sensoy, O., & DiAngelo, R. (2011). Is everyone really equal? New York: Teachers College Press.

Français

Journée d’étude: 12 novembre 2021

Journée d’étude: 12 novembre 2021 1920 2560 ÉRÉQQ Admin

Programme de la journée :

programme12nov

Appel de communications: Sexualités queer intersectionnelles

Appel de communications: Sexualités queer intersectionnelles 1303 933 ÉRÉQQ Admin

Sexualités queer intersectionnelles: Analyses des configurations culturelles de la sexualité queer au Québec et au Canada

Colloque international

Université de Montréal, Canada

16, 17 et 18 juin, 2022

Si l’on part du principe qu’il existe une diversité sexuelle au niveau des êtres humains, il va sans dire que cette diversité est aussi intersectionnelle. Ce constat est d’une importance majeure pour comprendre les sexualités queer qui sont en elles-mêmes plurielles, hétérogènes et multi-dimensionnelles, entre autres sur les plans de la race, du genre, de l’ethnicité, du statut socioéconomique, de l’âge et de la capacité corporelle. Les sexualités queer devraient donc éviter le piège de l’homonormativité – pour reprendre le terme de Jasbir Puar dans Terrorist Assemblages : Homonationalism in Queer Times (2007). L’homonormativité présuppose le fait que la diversité sexuelle est conçue fondamentalement comme étant racialement blanche, bourgeoise et valide. Ce colloque invite les chercheur.e.s universitaires à dépasser l’optique homonormative afin d’appréhender la complexité des sexualités queer en fonction d’une analyse intersectionnelle.

Dans son article « Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex : A Black Feminist Critique of Antidiscrimination Doctrine, Feminist Theory and Antiracist Politics » publié en 1989, Kimberle Crenshaw développe le concept de l’intersectionnalité afin de montrer les diverses manières dont le genre et la race interagissent et influent sur la multi-dimensionnalité des expériences d’emploi des femmes noires (p. 139). Crenshaw défend la thèse que pour comprendre la discrimination des femmes noires, il ne faut pas considérer les motifs de discrimination fondés sur le genre et la race comme des axes indépendants, mais qu’en revanche le fait d’être à la fois une femme et une personne noire produit une expérience de vie particulière et unique qui ne peut pas être saisie en examinant ces deux dimensions de manière séparée. Or, l’intersection du genre et de la race dans le cas des femmes noires donne forme à une expérience de discrimination singulière – que nous pouvons appeler systémique – parce que cette discrimination existe à l’intérieur d’un système dans lequel les structures institutionnelles légitiment et justifient des traitements différentiés en fonction de la position sociale intersectionnelle d’un individu. Pensons notamment aux femmes trans racisées qui sont victimes du taux d’agressions et d’homicides le plus élevé au Canada (Conseil québécois LGBT, 2017 ; McInnes, 2017).

Par conséquent, l’intersectionnalité peut être considérée comme un concept incontournable pour comprendre les multiples façons dont l’intersection du genre, de la race, de l’âge, de la capacité corporelle, du statut socioéconomique, etc., produit des configurations variées de la discrimination et de l’oppression, ce qui a un impact direct sur la construction des sexualités queer. Par exemple, une femme queer arabo-musulmane issue d’un milieu défavorisé sera constamment confrontée à des barrières systémiques entrelaçant à la fois race, genre, religion, sexualité et classe. Les

sexualités queer sont donc tributaires de l’enchevêtrement du racisme, de l’âgisme, du capacitisme, du classisme, etc.

Ce colloque portera sur les sexualités queer dans une optique intersectionnelle. Nous nous intéresserons à la façon dont les sexualités queer sont socialement construites, configurées, performées, discriminées, dévalorisées, marginalisées, stigmatisées, exclues. En nous penchant sur les sexualités queer dans une perspective intersectionnelle, nous tenterons également d’analyser la façon dont le sujet humain construit sa subjectivité, son agentivité, sa performativité, voire son identité, dans des œuvres littéraires, artistiques, cinématographiques, théâtrales et médiatiques. Nous invitons donc des propositions qui portent sur l’intersectionnalité des sexualités queer en fonction de certains axes de réflexion (de façon non exhaustive) :

– Les sexualités queer et l’oppression (racisme, capacitisme, âgisme, classisme, sexisme, sanisme, grossophobie, transphobie, homophobie, biphobie, lesbophobie, etc.)

– Les sexualités queer et le privilège (masculin, blanc, valide, etc.)

– Les identités LGBTQ2+ racisées, « crip », socioéconomiquement défavorisées

– La construction et la performance des sexualités queer intersectionnelles dans la littérature, le cinéma, l’art visuel, le documentaire et les réseaux sociaux (Tinder, Youtube, blogues, Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Grindr, etc.)

– Les sexualités queer et la pédagogie critique (approches, stratégies, théories).

Pour ce colloque, nous acceptons des propositions de communication, de sessions, de tables rondes et d’ateliers en français et en anglais. Les propositions, d’une longueur maximale de 250 mots, doivent indiquer le nom du/de la chercheur.e, son affiliation institutionnelle et son courriel. Les propositions sont à envoyer au plus tard le 1 décembre 2021 par courriel aux membres du comité organisateur :

Domenico Beneventi < domenico.beneventi@usherbrooke.ca >

Jorge Calderón < calderon@sfu.ca >

Hasheem Hakeem < hasheem.hakeem@ucalgary.ca >

Ce colloque est organisé dans le cadre des activités de recherche du groupe « Corporalité et sexualité queer au Canada et au Québec » qui est subventionné par le FRQSC. Le groupe est formé par des professeur.e.s de l’Université de Sherbrooke, de l’Université de Montréal, de l’Université d’Ottawa, de l’University of Victoria et de Simon Fraser University.

Références:

Conseil québécois LGBT. (2017). Rapport sur le racisme systémique vécu par la communauté LGBTQ+ montréalaise. Accessible en ligne : http://www.midi.gouv.qc.ca/publications/fr/dossiers/valoriser-diversite/rapports/RAP_Conseil_Quebecois_LGBT.pdf

Crenshaw, K. (1989). Demarginalizing the intersection of race and sex: A black feminist critique of antidiscrimination doctrine, feminist theory and antiracist politics. University of Chicago Legal Forum, 1989(1), 139-167.

McInnes, S. (2017). Violence against trans people in Canada: A primer. Accessible en ligne :

Puar, J.K. (2007). Terrorist assemblages: Homonationalism in queer times. Durham: Duke University Press.

Sensoy, O., & DiAngelo, R. (2011). Is everyone really equal? New York: Teachers College Press.